If You're Under the Age of 18 in Virginia, You Can't Be on the Road after Midnight
If you're a juvenile in Virginia under the age of 18, you may have an impeccable driving record and may be a more responsible driver than most of the adults in your family—but you will still be issued a citation if you're caught out on the road by police between midnight and 4 AM. An arrest for a curfew violation can result in the revocation of your license, which is why you (or your parents) should contact an experienced attorney from Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman, PC right away.
Teen Drivers in Virginia Can't Be Out on the Road at All Hours
You can imagine how excited the average 16- or 17-year-old is to obtain his learner's permit or driver's license; he has finally earned a measure of freedom and doesn't need his parents to chauffeur him around everywhere. However, many of these teenagers are surprised to learn that the state of Virginia imposes various restrictions on their licenses, including a driving curfew that applies from midnight to 4AM.
One especially aggravating thing about this curfew (from the perspective of a 16-year-old girl, that is) is that it applies to every day of the week, and not just “school nights.” While it may be reasonable for the authorities to ban kids being out on the roads past midnight on a Tuesday night in September, the situation is slightly different for, say, a lazy summer Saturday, when many teenagers are accustomed to their freedom (and their parents don't mind imposing a 1 AM curfew that's more lenient than the state's!)
If you're pulled over by the police at 12:30 AM on a Friday morning because you “look young” (and not because you were driving recklessly or under the influence of alcohol), you will likely receive a warning rather than an official citation. However, if the police catch you out on the road at 3AM, and you're the least bit antagonistic or disrespectful, a citation is more likely—and you may find yourself without any license at all until you turn 18.
Were You Cited for a Curfew Violation? A Good Lawyer Can Help
Of the numerous motor-vehicle and traffic laws of the state of Virginia, violating curfew ranks very low on the list (assuming, as stated above, that you're not driving recklessly or under the influence). Still, even the most innocent curfew violation can result in the revocation of your license, which is why you should obtain the advice of an experienced traffic attorney. Call the law firm of Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman, PC today for a free consultation!