Many Juvenile Drivers in Virginia Neglect to Buy Car Insurance; This Is a Serious Offense in the Eyes of the Law
Many teenaged and college-aged drivers in the state of Virginia are faced with a tricky situation; they have legally obtained their driver's license or learning permit but simply can't afford to buy insurance for their vehicles. What this means, of course, is that if they are involved in an accident, they (or more likely their parents) will have to pay the full cost. Driving without insurance can also land a teenaged driver in trouble with the Virginia authorities, which is why you need to contact the law firm of Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman, PC as soon as possible.
Virginia Requires All Drivers, Not Just Teens, to Carry Insurance
The state of Virginia legally requires all drivers to carry basic, minimal liability insurance, amounting to $25,000 a piece for the death or injury of up to two people and an additional $20,000 for property damage. This law doesn't apply to collision insurance, with the theory being that if you damage your own car in an accident, you're out of luck—and another driver whose car you damaged may have to sue you for repairs. Even these bare-bones policies can set you back $100 or $200 per month, and in the event of a serious accident, you'll still be liable for any injuries or deaths that exceed the covered dollar amount.
The penalties for not carrying liability insurance in Virginia include:
- Suspension of your driver's license
- Points added to your driving record
- Various fees and fines, including one for reinstating your car registration
- Mandatory SR-22 insurance (provided by the state) for three years, which usually costs more than regular car insurance
The law does, however, provide a loophole, which may or may not prove helpful to financially strapped juvenile drivers. The state of Virginia allows you to pay a yearly Uninsured Motor Vehicle fee of $500, which excuses you from the need to carry liability insurance. You should be aware, though, that you'll still be responsible for any damages (either to people or property) sustained during an accident; paying the UMV fee doesn't obligate the state to bail you out!
Caught Driving without Insurance? The Law Firm of Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman, PC Can Help
Being caught driving without liability insurance is pretty much an open-and-shut affair; either you have insurance or you don't. What the attorneys at Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman, PC can do is secure the lightest possible penalty for your infraction, and hopefully spare you the need to give up your license or buy SR-22 insurance. Call today for a free consultation!