Q: Will I go to jail if I was speeding and get convicted of reckless driving in Virginia?
A: Possibly. It really depends on a number of factors, though.
Reckless Driving is a Class I Misdemeanor in Virginia, which means it is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both. This may seem pretty steep for speeding, but Virginia has some of the most strict traffic laws in the nation. This is especially surprising to individuals who are visiting the state or simply driving through. If you receive a ticket that cites reckless driving, do not ignore it.
Although you could potentially receive up to a year in jail, that is not the norm. Certain factors will influence your sentencing, including your past driving record, what the weather and/or traffic conditions were when you were pulled over, and whether or not you were respectful toward the ticketing officer.
Other big factors in the punishment you receive include which court you are tried in, who the judge is, and who your lawyer is. Some judges go by the rule that if you were doing 90MPH or more on the highway, you will receive one day of jail time for every one MPH you were over 90. However, some judges will take the same stance, but they will tolerate up to 100MPH on the highway. If you were speeding in a residential area, they may not be as lenient with those high limits - it will really depend how much you were driving above the speed limit at the time.
Having an experienced Virginia reckless driving lawyer can make a huge difference in your sentencing, so be sure to contact Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman, PC at 888-783-9701 for a free consultation. You can also order a complimentary copy of our book, A Law-Abiding Citizen's Guide to DUI and Serious Traffic Offenses in Virginia.