In Virginia, Excessive Speeding Can Lead to a Charge of Reckless Driving
The state of Virginia has some of the harshest speeding laws in the nation. An offense that would set you back a few hundred dollars in another state may be punishable by a $3,000 fine and a year in jail here. Because Virginia's speeding laws are so strict, and so strictly enforced, you need the help of an experienced lawyer who can secure the least possible penalties, or even have your speeding case thrown out of court altogether. The attorneys at Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman, PC are available for a free consultation!
Virginia's Speeding Laws Include Both Misdemeanor and Felony Provisions
Essentially, the state of Virginia distinguishes between two kinds of speeding: “normal” speeding, which entails driving up to 19 miles per hour above the posted speed limit, and “reckless” speeding, which means driving 20 or more miles per hour above the posted limit. The first kind of speeding will subject you to fines of $5 for each mile over the speed limit, as well as three points added to your driving record (if you were going less than 10 MPH over the limit) or four points (if you were exceeding the limit by between 10 and 19 MPH).
The situation is a bit more complicated for people caught speeding at 20 MPH or more above the posted limit, as follows:
- Speeding at 20 MPH or more above the posted limit can subject you to a charge of either misdemeanor reckless driving, punishable by the $5 per MPH fine mentioned above, as well as additional fines of $350 per year for the ensuing three years, or felony reckless driving, for which the fine goes up to $1,000 per year. In either case, six points are added to your driving record.
- Speeding at 80 MPH or more (whether or not that means going 20 MPH over the posted speed limit) is also punishable as either a misdemeanor or felony reckless driving. The fines are the same as listed above, and size points will be added to your driving record upon conviction.
In the worst case—a conviction for felony reckless driving for exceeding 80 MPH on a state highway—your total penalty will include an initial fine of $400 (80 MPH X $5 per hour), $1,000 for each of the following three years, and a court fee of $62. That adds up to a whopping $3,462, regardless of whether the district attorney wants you to serve time in jail.
A Call to Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman Can Save You Money on Your Speeding Ticket
If you have been arrested for a speeding violation, whether or not you were going 20MPH or more above the posted limit, call the lawyers at Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman, PC for a free consultation. Our firm has decades of experience defending drivers against speeding charges; if we can't have the charges dismissed outright (say, by proving the police were using a faulty radar gun), we'll work to secure the lightest penalty possible.