Q: I was arrested for DUI. Am I still allowed to drive to work and school?
A: No. If you had a breathalyzer result of .08 or more, or you're under 21 and had a result of .02 or more, your license will be suspended. If this was your first DUI arrest in Virginia, your license will only be suspended for seven days. If this was your second offense in ten years, your license is suspended for 60 days or until your trial. If this offense is your third (or more) in 10 years, your license is suspended until your trial. But remember - if you go to trial and are convicted, chances are good that you will still not be able to drive.
The DUI laws in Virginia will not allow anyone to give you permission to drive to work, school or for any other reason while your license is suspended. If you get caught driving, there is a good chance you will go to jail.
If your DUI arrest turns into a conviction, you might be able to request restricted driving privileges if this is your first offense. If you have been convicted of a DUI before, you will not be granted restricted driving privileges. It is important to team up with your lawyer so they will be able to properly explain to the court why you need your driving privileges to be restricted instead of completely suspended. Valid reasons could be to drive to work, take your children to school/daycare, or go to an alcohol education program.
If you have been arrested for a DUI in Virginia, contact a lawyer immediately. DUI defense attorneys Jarrell Hicks & Waldman, PC are available for a free consultation; just call them toll-free at 888-783-9701. You can also request a complimentary copy of their book A Law-Abiding Citizen's Guide to DUI and Serious Traffic Offenses in Virginia.