Q: How expensive is a DUI in Virginia for first-time offenders?
A: If knowing that you could kill someone by driving under the influence is not enough to stop you, maybe the steep financial obligation will. Yes, you'll have it easier than individuals who have been convicted of a DUI multiple times, but it doesn't mean you're going to get out of it with your bank account intact.
Getting a DUI in Virginia has always been expensive, but with the recent addition of the law requiring first-time offenders to drive with an ignition interlock device, costs have risen even more. The state doesn't pay for that device - you do.
By the time you have finished paying for driving under the influence in Virginia, your bill may be upwards of $10,000. What does that include?
- Attorney costs
- Court costs
- Higher insurance
- A fee to enter the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program
- Installing, removing, and regularly monitoring the ignition interlock device
- Missing work to take your car to the interlock provider every 30 days to have the system checked for violations
If you commit an alcohol violation while you have the interlock advice, you have to start all over and have the device for another six months.
As you can see, getting behind the wheel after a night of drinking, because you don't want to call a cab, can have serious repercussions. A cab home costs much less than a DUI conviction in Virginia. If you were arrested for a DUI, call Spotsylvania attorneys Jarrell, Hicks, and Waldman, PC for a free consultation at 888-783-9701.