The Harsh Realities of a Virginia DUI Arrest and Conviction
“I really didn’t have that much to drink.”
“I had to get the car home so I could go to work the next day.”
“I had a big meal after the drinks.”
“The babysitter was waiting and it was getting late.”
“It was just a short drive.”
“I promised a friend I would have him home by midnight.”
Sound familiar? These are some of the thoughts you may have had right after you were arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Virginia. Maybe now you are wondering, “What was I thinking?”
But you should not despair. Just because you were arrested does not mean that you cannot deal with the situation. A Virginia DUI arrest (link to DUI PA page) can be defended. What can you do? Just take these two steps:
- Learn as much as you can about Virginia DUI laws.
- Find an experienced lawyer to guide you through the process.
You must first understand that the state of Virginia does not take driving under the influence (DUI) lightly. Each time a driver chooses to get behind the wheel after drinking is an invitation for trouble. In fact, Virginia has some of the toughest DUI laws in the country. The penalties can range from a $250 fine and one-year revocation of your driver’s license for a first offense to a mandatory, minimum one-year jail term plus fines up to $2,500 for a fourth conviction.
All of this can be very scary. Here are some facts that you need to know about Virginia DUI arrests:
- In Virginia, you are considered to be legally impaired if your blood alcohol content is 0.08 percent or higher.
- You can get a DUI in any motor vehicle, including a boat, moped, motorcycle or watercraft.
- You can be arrested up to three hours after a crash without a warrant.
- Your bail is denied if you are arrested three or more times in a five-year period.
- You can be arrested for DUI if there is an open and partially consumed alcohol container anywhere within the driver’s reach, including an unlocked glove compartment.
- An additional five-day jail sentence is automatically tacked on to your sentence and fines if you are arrested with anyone 17 years of age or younger in the vehicle.
- If convicted of a DUI and found driving on a suspended license, your car will automatically be impounded for 90 days.
- Depending upon the local laws, you can be asked to pay up to $1,000 in restitution for the costs of police, emergency services, medical services, and rescue services.
Knowing these facts and more about Virginia DUI laws is a good start in preparing yourself for the next steps in your DUI case. But knowing the laws is not enough. A DUI conviction can turn your life upside down. And, trying to represent yourself when faced with this type of charge can be a very costly mistake. Getting help quickly is the smartest thing you can do.
You need an experienced Virginia DUI attorney to represent your best interests, handle the details of your case and fight for your rights. Joseph “Jeh” Hicks at Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman, PC can help you get back on track. He will meet with you personally and stay by your side throughout the legal process. Call “Jeh” toll free today at 888-783-9701 to request a free consultation.