Penalties in Virginia for a Third DUI
Virginia does not kid around when it comes to penalties for DUIs, and if you've already been convicted of a DUI two times before, you probably know that already. Unfortunately, it only gets worse each time you make the decision to drink and get behind the wheel of your car in VA. At this point, you are getting in to really serious territory, and you should consider speaking with a DUI defense attorney to make sure things don't get really bad.
If you are convicted of a DUI in Virginia three times, here are the penalties you can expect:
- Three DUI convictions within a ten-year period
- Mandatory, indefinite driver's license revocation
- If your driving privilege is revoked for a first or second DUI offense conviction and you receive another DUI, the license revocation period will run consecutively with the existing revocation period.
- Conviction for DUI third offense
- Mandatory minimum $1,000 fine
- Mandatory indefinite driver's license revocation
- Prosecution as a Class 6 felony
- Conviction for DUI third offense within five years carries the following additional penalty:
- Mandatory, minimum six-month jail term
- Conviction for DUI third offense within ten years carries the following additional penalties:
- Mandatory, minimum 90-day jail term
- Permanent forfeiture of your vehicle
If you were arrested for DUI in Virginia and you would like an experienced DUI defense attorney to represent you, call Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman, PC at 888-783-9701 for a free consultation.