Spotsylvania Attorneys Defend You Against DUI Charges
Virginia firm works hard for you after a drunk-driving arrest
If the police suspect you’re driving under the influence (DUI), a simple traffic stop can turn into a legal nightmare. At Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman, PC, our Spotsylvania attorneys have protected countless Virginians from the harsh penalties that come with a DUI conviction. Whether you’re looking at license revocation for a first offense or jail time for a third conviction, our legal team works hard to get your charges dismissed or reduced.
Fighting the harsh penalties that come with a DUI
Under a tough DUI law that went into effect July 1, 2012, a first DUI conviction carries a mandatory fine of at least $250, license revocation for an entire year and the required installation of an ignition interlock device. A second DUI conviction means a fine of at least $500, three years of license revocation and up to a year in jail. For a third conviction, the penalties escalate and include indefinite license revocation and vehicle forfeiture.
For drivers younger than 21, Virginia’s zero-tolerance policy calls for a one-year license suspension if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of as little as 0.02 percent. Visit our DUI FAQ page for more information on DUI penalties in Virginia. Whether you’re facing your first DUI charge or your third, your freedom and future are at risk. At Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman, PC, our DUI attorneys employ a variety of strategies to defend clients in the Spotsylvania and Fredericksburg areas, including arguing that:
Is DUI a misdemeanor or felony in Virginia?
In Virginia, DUIs generally are misdemeanors until you commit a third offense in a 10-year period, at which point the charge becomes a Class 6 felony. Conviction of a Class 6 DUI felony carries a maximum penalty of one to five years in prison. Regardless of how many previous DUIs you have, you are charged with a felony if someone dies because of your DUI. The DUI defense team at Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman, PC works aggressively to have your charges dropped or reduced. We serve clients in Caroline County, Fauquier County, Hanover County, King George County, Orange County, Spotsylvania County and Stafford County.
How do I get my license restored if it has been suspended for a DUI?
If your license has been suspended because of a DUI arrest or conviction or because of your refusal to submit to a breath test, you are typically required to submit to an evaluation by the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP), which can stretch the license reinstatement process out by approximately 90 days. At Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman, PC, our DUI defense team makes it a priority to win the restoration of driving privileges for clients throughout the Spotsylvania and Fredericksburg areas.
Schedule a consultation today with our experienced DUI lawyers
The attorneys at Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman, PC aggressively defend you against DUI charges. Call (540) 582-5300 to set a consultation, or contact us online for appointment scheduling. We’re near the courthouse, in the historic Spotswood Inn. We serve clients in and around Fredericksburg, Thornburg, Spotsylvania, Corbin, Woodford, Hartwood, Partlow, Richardsville, Locust Grove, Brooke, Ladysmith, Stafford, Lignum, Goldvein, Rappahannock Academy, Garrisonville and Sumerduck.