Penalties for Drunk Driving in Virginia
When it comes to drunk driving, the state of Virginia does not mess around. If you are convicted of a DUI, the penalties you might face could be quite harsh. Here are some of the possible consequences you will face:
- First Conviction
- Mandatory fine of at least $250
- Driver's license revoked for one year
- Required to install an ignition interlock system
- Second Conviction
- Mandatory minimum fine of at least $500
- Driver's license revoked for three years
- Possible jail time. If your second offense is within five years of your first offense, you must go to jail for 20 days. If it is within ten years of your first offense, you must go to jail for 10 days.
- Third Conviction
- Mandatory minimum fine of $1,000
- Driver's license revoked for an indefinite amount of time
- Prosecuted for a Class 6 felony
- Jail time. If your third offense is within five years of your last DUI, you will go to jail for six months. If it is within ten years of your last offense, you will go to jail for 90 days.
- Permanently forfeit your vehicle
There are even more penalties when it comes to blood alcohol concentration and failure to comply with the court's rules. If you were arrested for a DUI, it is vital that you contact Virginia DUI defense lawyers Jarrell Hicks & Waldman. They will work hard to make sure you receive a fair trial; call 877-783-9701 for your free consultation today. You can also order a complimentary copy of their book, A Law-Abiding Citizen's Guide to DUI and Serious Traffic Offenses in Virginia.