There Are Some Exceptions to Virginia’s Juvenile Curfew Law
As any parent of a teenager knows, every rule has its exceptions. According to Virginia law, 16- and 17-year-olds with learner's permits or driver's licenses aren't allowed to be out on the road between the hours of midnight and 4AM. This rule doesn't apply only to school nights, but weekends, holidays, and summer vacations, as well. However, there are some exceptions to this rule, including:
- Emergencies. Police won't cite you for a curfew violation if you're rushing your little sister to the hospital after midnight.
- Traveling to or from work. Some teenagers, during the summer, work the late shift at fast-food restaurants; they, too, can be on the road during curfew.
- Being accompanied by a parent or other adult. (In the eyes of the police, however, an 18-year-old friend may or may not qualify as an “adult.”)
- Responding to an emergency call, if the driver is a volunteer firefighter or member of a rescue squad.
If a teen is otherwise driving responsibly, and hasn't been drinking or taking drugs, he may well be able to convince a police officer to let him off with a warning, on the promise never to violate curfew again. However, it will be easier to talk yourself out of a curfew violation if you (and the other passengers in your car) are respectful and well-behaved. Questions? Call the experienced traffic lawyers at Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman for a free consultation!