In Virginia, You Can Usually Plead Down a Reckless Driving Charge Due to Faulty Brakes
So you've just returned home after a harrowing experience on the road. There you were, driving along peacefully, when, unaccountably, your brakes didn't respond properly as you approached a stop sign. As luck would have it, a police car happened to be in the immediate vicinity, and you were pulled over, interviewed by the officer, and issued a citation for reckless driving due to faulty brakes. Quickly logging onto the web, you see that a conviction on this charge can potentially result in up to a year in jail, a $2,500 fine, and six points added to your driving record. Is it time to panic?
In most cases, the answer is a definite “no.” Except in the most egregious examples, it's very rare for a reckless driving citation due to faulty brakes to be punished to the full extent of the law. In fact, the police officer probably won't tell you this, but while he is legally compelled to issue you a ticket for reckless driving (even in borderline cases), a judge or district attorney can later reduce this charge to one of improper driving, which entails a $500 fine and three points added to your driving record. This still isn't an ideal outcome, of course, especially if you don't feel you were at fault for the incident, but it's still better than a misdemeanor reckless driving conviction.
Have you been cited for reckless driving as a result of faulty brakes? Call the law office of Jarrell, Hicks & Waldman for a free consultation; our lawyers are deeply conversant with Virginia traffic laws and will work to secure the best possible outcome to your case.