SR-22 Insurance Can Be a Bad Deal for Virginia Juvenile Drivers
Buying car insurance in the state of Virginia can be a “damned if you do, damned if you don't” type of situation. Many younger drivers are still in high school or college and feel that they simply can't afford to shell out $100 or $200 a month for basic liability insurance. The trouble is, if you're caught driving without the minimum liability insurance required by the state of Virginia (which amounts to about $70,000 for injuries to people and damage to property), the authorities can compel you to purchase a financial responsibility insurance certificate (commonly known as an SR-22) for three years.
Why is this a bad thing? Well, in one way, it's not; the law says you have to have liability insurance on your car, and if you don't, it's up to the state to teach you some responsibility. But in another way, having to obtain an SR-22 can be an onerous financial burden because, by definition, you already have a “prior record” in the eyes of insurers, your SR-22 certificate may wind up costing two or three times as much as the ordinary liability insurance you should have been carrying in the first place!
Even so, there may be some wiggle room with the authorities if you're caught driving without the minimum required liability insurance. Call the law firm of Jarrell Hicks & Waldman for a free consultation; you may be able to avoid an SR-22 entirely, or at least get good advice on obtaining the least expensive policy.